A short plug …

It’s been a while since I posted anything new on my blog, but I feel I need to get back into the swing of things, especially as the nights are starting to draw in. As usual, I’m not going to say much about me, but instead I’d like to direct you to Mark Doyle’s blog. If you’ve ever read the story of Chris McCandless (Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer) I think you’ll see some parallels between what McCandless was trying to do and what Mark’s up to at the moment.

Mark was the tutor who pulled the Penistone Poets into shape and I personally have a lot to thank him for. He’s a fantastically supportive individual and a truly observant poet. The word ‘grounded’ springs to mind when I think of him; he’s terrifically in tune with his environment and it comes through in his writing. A poem of his is featured on the Penistone Poets section of my site if you want a flavour of his work. I wish him all the best on his travels. Here’s to the spirit of adventure!

Leave a Reply

