Into the blue again …

dscn1427

Sheffield graffiti by Kid Acne. Photo by J. Mellor

I don’t want to tempt fate here, but since I’ve had my new pamphlet accepted, I’ve felt more relaxed about my writing than I have in a long time (and more relaxed about not writing too). I’m about two thirds of the way through Eric Maisel’s book, Fearless Creating, and a lot of what he has to say about managing the artistic anxieties caused by both creating and not creating rings true. I can certainly recommend Maisel’s book if you want to understand a little more about the process and how it can affect you.

I’m ducking out of posting a poem today, not because I haven’t got any work, but because the new stuff is quietly composting. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a ‘put your feet up’ situation. In fact, I’ve just been to Suzannah Evans’ Writing Space this morning at Bank Street Arts in Sheffield. And this little ear worm is in my head as well (Talking Heads if you didn’t get it from the title of the post). Yes, Into the blue again … with all the uncertainties and anxieties that entails, but also with a certain amount of relish in finding out what exactly I’ll write next and how. Apart from the fact that I’m certain it will be poems, the rest remains a mystery – as it should.

I’m including the unedited picture I took of Kid Acne’s work, below, so you can see his phenomenal work in context. Yes, even skips aren’t immune from being transformed into works of art.

dscn1426

One thought on “Into the blue again …

  1. Thank you, Julie, for your blog. I’ve discovered it recently and have enjoyed my visits. I sometimes come here when I have creative jitters or a restless pause. I always find something to engage with, take me out of myself and put me back on track. So thanks also for the reference to Eric Maisel’s book. Keep it going!

    Regina

Leave a Reply

