Readings and reviews

cropped front cover

Just a quick bit of self-publicity this week. First, news of a couple of readings I’m doing:

Tuesday 27th June, Penistone launch of Out of the Weather at Café Crème, High Street, Penistone. 6.00pm for a 6.30 start.
Tuesday 4th July, Sheffield launch at The Fat Cat, Alma Street, Sheffield (upstairs room) 7.30pm.
Both events are free and everyone is welcome to attend.

Secondly, I received a very generous review of the new pamphlet from John Irving Clarke of Currock Press. The review appears both on John’s blog on the Currock Press website and on the Write Out Loud Write Out Loud website in case you want to check it out, but in the meantime here’s a taster:
‘I read this collection in one sitting, although there were plenty of pauses to let images and significances register. Then I read it again, acknowledging Robert Frost’s definition of poetry which “begins in delight and ends in wisdom”. Julie Mellor’s poems are delightful, they are imbued with wisdom and they are certainly thought-provoking. This is a collection I will continue to read and re-read.‘ John Irving Clarke.

It was lovely to receive this but I won’t let myself get too carried away. I always feel as though it’s what I’m writing at the moment that counts, rather than what’s already out there. In an effort to keep the momentum going, I went to Suzannah  Evan’s workshop at Weston Park Museum in Sheffield on Saturday. Suzie always provides some interesting and stimulating exercises and I came away with plenty of notes that might become poems if I’m lucky. I seem to be writing a lot about the mother/daughter relationship at the moment, which isn’t exactly ground breaking, so I’m hesitant to share any of that work yet. I’ve workshopped one or two, but I’m still feeling my way with them. Also, common sense tells me to sit on them for a while; I need that bit of distance before I can look at them with any sort of detachment!
I’m off to the Ted Hughes Festival next week. There are still tickets left I believe, so if you want an excellent programme of events (and excellent value too) have a look at the Ted Hughes Project website and treat yourself to some poetry in Mexborough.

Leave a Reply

