Language is hardwired for poetry

Just a short post this week as we’ve been on holiday in the Lakes. As is often the case, I didn’t do much writing while I was away. However, after rereading Kerouac’s ‘Beliefs and Techniques for Modern Prose’ (which is practically a poem in itself) I went back to one of my cubomania pages and came up with what seems to be half poem/ half manifesto.

Here’s the cubomania collage followed by the poem.

cubo hardwired

Language is hardwired for poetry

or
sketch the flow every day
or
like Proust, be the eye within
or
include linguistic practice
or
write such as watching
or
give an account, grammatical and pithy
or
engage and mimic strangeness
or
go beyond the language sea
or
remove the world for yourself
or
(de) compose extremely
or
die in solitude

 

Like I said, a short post. So, until next week ….

 

 

2 thoughts on “Language is hardwired for poetry

    • As always, thanks for taking an interest John. I feel like I’m moving away from the centre a bit, and I’m not sure where it’s leading. It could be quite lonely territory if it wasn’t for people like you being so supportive. Thanks for your support.
      Julie X

      Like

Leave a comment